The Ensemble

The Ensemble Platypus is a young and energetic formation in the field of contemporary music. Its roots lie in the older association „Verein Platypus“, which started originally as an initiative by young composers. The Ensemble Platypus represents a logical consequence and a natural development of ideas and idealisms already propelling the work of the first duckbill.

These include the highest possible artistic and musical standards as well as a serious advocacy for aesthetic and programmatic pluralism, an effort towards accessibility and a general low-threshold policy in all concerts and other projects. In this respect, it also is the groups resolve to aim for and realise projects which transcend and question if not detonate conventions present in musical life today. Furthermore, the group lies an emphasis and focus on young and little-known composers, of which a rather large number of commissioned pieces, world-premieres and European premieres bears testimony. The equal representation and equal judgement of women and men, be it in decision-making, concert programmes or other artistic ventures, is another primary guideline of our work.

From this fertile soil grew a large number of cooperations and concerts with partners like Wien modern, the Wiener Konzerthaus, Klangspuren Schwaz festival, the Forum Neue Musik Wallis, the Bienal do Música Hoje in Curitiba/Brasil, der IGNM/ISCM, der ÖGZM (Austrian Society for Contemporary Music), sirene operntheater, the Austrian Composer's Federation (Österreichischer Komponistenbund) and the Austrian Label col legno; in addition to which the Ensemble realised concert series and international exchange projects of their own accord (Mexico 2009, Germany/Czech Republic/Great Britain 2011, Brasil 2011/2013, Argentina 2013, Japan 2014, Mexico 2015) and tied close connections with composers such as Bernhard Lang, Peter Ablinger, Georg Nussbaumer, Manuela Kerer, Tamara Friebel, Maria Gstättner, Matthias Kranebitter, Mirela Ivicevic […]

Unsere Sponsoren, Kooperationspartner und Förderer

Das Ensemble

Das Ensemble Platypus ist eine junge und engagierte Formation im Bereich Neuer Musik. Hervorgegangen aus dem bereits früher entstandenen Verein Platypus, einer Initiative junger Komponisten, stellt das Ensemble eine logische Fortführung und Weiterentwicklung all jener Momente, die seit Anbeginn die Arbeit des Schnabeltieres begleiteten, dar.

Neben höchstem künstlerischen wie musikalischen Anspruch sind hierbei das Einstehen für ästhetische und programmatische Vielfalt, das Bemühen um Niederschwelligkeit und Zugänglichkeit sowie die Durchführung von Projekten, die weit über das konventionelle Konzertformat oder gängige Schienen des Musiklebens hinausweisen, zu nennen. Wesentlich ist auch die grundlegende Fokussierung auf junge, noch wenig bekannte Komponist_Innen und deren Arbeit, wovon zahlreiche Ur- und Erstaufführungen Zeugnis ablegen. Darüber hinaus ist die Gleichberechtigung von Frauen und Männern, ihre gleichmäßige Repräsentation in Entscheidungsprozessen wie Konzertprogrammen und anderen künstlerischen Vorhaben ein Leitsatz all unserer Tätigkeiten.

Aus diesem Boden heraus wuchsen seit 2009 Kooperationen und Konzerte mit Partnern wie Wien modern, dem Wiener Konzerthaus, den Klangspuren Schwaz, dem Forum Neue Musik Wallis, der Bienal do Música Hoje in Curitíba/Brasilien, der IGNM, der ÖGZM, sirene operntheater, dem Österreichischen Komponistenbund (ÖKB) und dem österreichischen Label col legno; hinzu kommen Konzertreihen, verschiedene Austauschprojekte (Mexiko 2009, Deutschland/Tschechien/Großbritannien 2011, Brasilien 2011/2013, Argentinien 2013, Japan 2014, Mexiko 2015-16) und die generell enge Zusammenarbeit mit Komponist_Innen (Bernhard Lang, Peter Ablinger, Georg Nussbaumer, Manuela Kerer, Tamara Friebel, Maria Gstättner, Matthias Kranebitter, Mirela Ivicevic […]).